Whetstone offers many different settings and features that can be turned on for each meeting template.
A standard Whetstone meeting template is set up so that:
- Only the host can take notes.
- Recurring meetings can be tracked in one place.
- All participants can add files or post a comment in the Discussion tab.
Read on to learn about some of our popular optional settings! If you're interested in enabling any of these features, talk to your school leaders or reach out to your Customer Success Manager.
In additional to the Details, Files and Discussion tabs, there can also be a Videos tab. This is a space where both the host and participant can upload video content. Once a video is in Whetstone, the host can add timestamped notes.
This feature is particularly popular with partners who have purchased Whetstone Hosted Video. This allows partners to upload videos directly from their desktop, rather than having to paste a link from sites like YouTube or Vimeo.
For each field, you have the option to add personalized help text to the template. This help text can be accessed by clicking on the small question mark to the right of the header. The secondary feature here is 'click-to-fill' which allows you to click on any bullets in the help text, and have them automatically populate into the text box below. This can be particularly helpful for parts of a meeting where the notes will follow a standard script. Leaders can saved time with 'click-to-fill' rather than having to re-type everything or copy and paste information over.
Do your current Whetstone meeting templates just have large text boxes with topic headers? Our platform has plenty of different field options that can help organize the look and flow of your meeting. These include fields for number input, checkboxes, short text boxes, dates, educational standards and two column text boxes. Lots of opportunities to spruce up that template!
You also have the option to identify which of those fields should be private. This gives you the opportunity to keep track of any notes that should not be visible to participants.
For each field in your meeting template, there can be a setting turned on that's called 'Allow participants to edit on their copy.' To the right of each of these fields, you'll see a blue 'compare notes' button. See below a two column text box field with this feature turned on. Rather than just being able to see the host's notes for the section, each participant will see a blank text box that they can fill out with their own notes.
If a participant would like to see the host's or another participant's notes, just click on the blue icon. In the pop-up, you can see the notes that each individual submitted on their form. These notes will update in real time.
If you enable this feature, you are adding three distinct phases to your meeting template. Generally, this feature is used for meetings that require independent pre-work that shouldn't be shared with other participants until the meeting has started. The three phases are 1) Not Shared, 2) Pre-Work, 3) Started. You'll see on the template below that there is an Actions section where the host can move the meeting through the phases.
Not Shared: This is the first phase of the meeting, which occurs right when the template is created. At this point, only the host can see the meeting.
Pre-Work: When you click the blue Share w/ participants button, every participants gets an email and a link that will take them into Whetstone. Here they will see blank text boxes from the meeting template. They will only see text boxes that have been marked with the setting 'Allow participants to edit on their copy.' Participants can fill this out independently, and will not yet be able to see what the host or other participants have written. The host, however, can see all participants' notes during this phase.
Started: This phase starts when the host clicks the green Start Meeting button, typically right when the meeting commences. Two things happen at this point. The first is that additional fields may appear if they were marked with the setting 'Hide until meeting starts.' For example, maybe you want to add a 'Reflection' text box that you don't want the participants to see during the pre-work phase. The second thing that happens is that all participants get access to each other's pre-work submissions. Everyone will see the blue 'compare notes' button that was outlined in the previous section of this article. Participants can continue to edit their notes, and see in real time the updates that the host and other participants are making.
Do you need more information?
Click the Support and Feedback button or email us at email@example.com